The town of Tábor which is situated 90 km south of Prague is one of the Czech towns which have a lot to offer to tourists. Its rich history, interesting architecture and charming countryside in the vicinity attract hundreds of people to the town. The heritage of Hussite thoughts has been apparent in the atmosphere of this place till today.
A group of Husí´s followers came to a hill where a Premyslid settlement used to be and they founded a town there in the year 1420 and gave it a Biblical name—Tábor. Being led by captains Jan Žižka of Trocnov and Prokop Holý they started out on their victorious battles from there. The foundation of Tábor is connected with the name of Jan Hus, a great reformer of the Catholic Church. In the year 1437 after the Hussites were defeated, the town of Tábor was granted a royal charter by the Holy Roman Emperor and Czech King Sigismund of Luxembourg.
A lot of time has elapsed since then and a lot of water has flown in the River Lužnice; nevertheless, the preserved remains of the mighty fortification system and the charming lanes and squares of the Old Town do not let us forget the eventful past. The centre of the town has been designated a site of special historic interest due to its unique mode of development and a high number of preserved sights.
The Hussite Museum and Žižka Square dominated by a monument to the famous captain Jan Žižka and are a must for every visitor to Tábor. The museum has situated its exposition in the late Gothic town hall. It is impossible not to notice the rich facades of old burgher houses where a number of architectural styles are harmoniously combined—late Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque and Rococo. First-time visitors may not even suspect that there is an ingenious labyrinth of tunnels under the houses and streets in the centre. At the beginning of the 16th century people dug cellars under their houses and these were subsequently interconnected; a section of the tunnel system is open to the public.
A pleasant walk through crooked lanes of the Old Town can bring you to the only preserved tower of the former Kotnov Castle. Those who climb up the stairs will be rewarded with a beautiful view of the town and the nearby Baroque Church of Klokoty—a famous place of pilgrimage.
Right in the centre of the town there is a lake called the Jordan. It is the oldest dam in Central Europe and dates back to the time Christopher Columbus discovered America—to the year 1492. Táborská setkání is an international festival which is traditionally held in mid September. Its rich programme is inspired by the rich history of the town evoking its fame in the Middle Ages.
Tábor, with its 37 000 inhabitants, is the second largest town in South Bohemia and it is an important traffic, economic and cultural centre in the region.
The romantic countryside along the River Luznice, with its many natural and cultural sights, is very popular among canoeists and tourists.
|View of Kotnov castle in the beginning of the 20th century||Mikuláš of Hus Square, late 19th century||Sweet shop on Žižka from Trocnov Square, 20's|
|Table club PFFF, in the car, 1927||Kotnov from Holecek park, 1902||Road building below Klokoty, approx. 1910|
|Emperor's field-daon on Křižík square, 1913||Start of motorcycle race in Tábor, 1928||A meeting of automobile and motorcycle club on Žižka square - with band, 1929|
|A car in the front of Hotel nový, 1913||View of Tábor from Čelkovice, after 1900||On the ramparts in Tábor, approx. 1900|
|Start of automobile race in Tábor, 1918|